Reflection on Myself

Feminism always meant equality to me but taking this class taught me that equality is not the only thing that comes to mind when talking about being a feminist. I met so many brave, courageous and extraordinary souls in this class. Girls who aren’t scared to say that they are a feminist. Girls that aren’t scared of the patriarchy and girls who want to make a change. This class has taught me that there is no right or wrong feminist. Shaving your legs, enjoying sex or wanting to have a loving family does not mean you are not a feminist. We all want the same thing at the end of the day; equality, respect and to get rid of the patriarchy and oppression. This class allowed me to see the different perspectives and views on feminism and helped me figure out where I stand when it comes to feminism.

My parents come from a country where there is severe oppression of women and people are in favour of the patriarchy. However, I am fortunate enough to say that my parents always taught me that women and men are equal and that it is important to fight for equality. This class allowed me to share my views and not be scared of being judged. Most importantly, I learned that being a feminist does NOT mean that you can’t have feelings or strong emotions, and that you have to be aggressive. Feminism is about spreading ideas and being able to convince people that we are all humans beings and we should not be treated differently because of gender.

Leave a Reply

