“About Me”

I’m kind of a last minute blogger, so hearing that there’s no material needed to prepare for class tomorrow, I’m struggling to think of a topic to write about. The best I can do is tell you about my life in the past few months.

I’ve been struggling with anxiety and depression for about a year now, the latter weighing heavily on my shoulders. It wasn’t so prevalent at first, just hitting me little by little during my weaker moments. As I made the change to university though, it hit me faster, harder, and more frequently. I stopped going to my classes, couldn’t study, and found myself isolated in my room more often than not. I even failed a course, my worst nightmare as a kid.

Learning to live with mental illness has been a learning experience for me, and still is. I know many people don’t understand how it affects me, and that’s okay, because I never would have known how to understand it before now. Every day has become a fight with myself to be a real person; to get out of bed and do something, anything. I fight to receive things like counselling and medication, both of which I would’ve assumed to be easily accessible before, and both of which I could not live without.

I know this blog is rather personal, but isn’t that what we do in class anyway? I’m working hard to be a whole person again, but until then, I’m doing my best.

2 thoughts on ““About Me”

  1. I’ve been struggling with the same exact issues and recently got diagnosed with depression and panic disorder. I know exactly how you’re feeling and if you ever need someone to talk to I’m here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

