Meta Blog

Blogging is hard. Self reflection is even harder.

Previously, all my experience with blogging could be linked directly back to Tumblr– a platform where angsty pre-teens discover self expression through glamorous photos and cliche quotes. I certainly had no experience with academic blogging.

Looking back on all my blog posts, my main ongoing struggle is balance.

Balancing examples, inquiries, analysis, and opinion.  Balancing the academic tone and my corrupt teenaged vernacular. Balancing all the ideas in my head and the daunting 250 word cap. Balancing wit and seriousness. Balancing expanding on others ideas and bringing forward my own. Balancing my own bias and my own naiveties.

To cope with the teeter totter of blogging I began my first few post by playing it safe and staying fairly general. My post on the Bell Jar grazed over the novel with limited examples and unspecific anecdotes. My next few posts regarding the glass ceiling and the Parable of the Sower began to find more specificity. I decided to let go of the engrained paragraph  structure and follow my stream of consciousness. I found this to be much more successful. My final two blog posts, focusing primarily on reviewing specific texts, adapted a more formal tone yet maintained the free structure. Those two blog posts were probably the easiest for me to write, because I am starting to finally discover the balance.

Balance is arguably the hardest thing to achieve in life and my blog posts have certainly reflected this. While I don’t think I’ve been as consistent as I might like, I am proud of the progression of my blogging and my journey to finding balance.

Leave a Reply

