the hairless norm

Out of all the provocative and demeaning photos I’ve seen posted on Instagram (not only posted by famous Instagram models but by people I know and see on a daily basis) I am truly amazed that this is the photo that upset people. How is such an artistic, powerful and accepting image hurting society?

I believe that because i grew up in a small town I was sheltered from a lot of reality. Now living in Toronto and being immersed into classes full of ideas and information on social inequalities, the feminization of women and what feminism is I think these classes have shown me how far society has come with feminism but also how we are constantly pushing for more and deserve more.

This Instagram post my Petra Collins is only further conformation to me that i think we have much more work in changing how women are viewed. This quote really caught my attention:

“Through this removal I really felt how strong of a distrust and hate we have towards female bodies. The deletion of my account felt like a physical act, like the public coming at me with a razor, sticking their finger down my throat, forcing me to cover up, forcing me to succumb to societies image of beauty. That these very real pressures we face everyday can turn into literal censorship.”

How is it still acceptable for society and social media make a girl who is only expressing her free and unique self feel this way?

 

Leave a Reply

