Not Intersectional? Not My Sisterhood!

Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay touches on so many aspects of Feminist self-scrutiny that have been running through my mind ever since I learned what Feminism was.

The passage that I found great value in was the one where she spoke about “disappointing the sisterhood” and being a black feminist. I consider myself a black feminist and see worth in emphasizing that I am black as well as a feminist because they are a part of my story. In the words of Audre Lorde: “my struggles on both of these fronts are inseparable”.

The idea of “unnatural division which impedes solidarity and sisterhood” as a response to intersectional feminism is one that makes me laugh, because we aren’t sisters if you don’t help me fight for my rights. Historically, feminism has been (and sometimes still is) very white, and some women who are labelled “feminist heroes” were white supremacists, so the fact that my blackness supposedly “impedes solidarity and sisterhood” and racism within the feminist community doesn’t, is extremely nonsensical.

In many situations, I have thought of myself as being a “bad feminist”, mostly because I listen to rap music with lyrics that degrade women. However, after reading this, it makes me feel a bit better about those situations, because at the end of the day I think my values and what I’m fighting for are more important than whether or not I listen to A$AP Ferg on the subway from time to time.

Leave a Reply

